2 Comments

A Classic Comes to Life: Dragonriders of Pern Optioned by Warner Bros.

DragonFlight, by Anne McCaffrey

DragonFlight, the first book in the original Dragon Riders of Pern trilogy.

As reported by Variety magazine, Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonriders of Pern series has been optioned for a movie franchise. I’m simultaneously thrilled and a little anxious about the possibility of bringing these books to life on the screen.

Anne McCaffrey was one of my favorite authors growing up. I think I read nearly all her books, beginning around the age of ten through high school. I adored the Dragonriders of Pern, The Crystal Singer, and Acorna. These were the stories that got me hooked on science fiction and fantasy in the first place, and launched my lifetime love of the genre. They gave me an escape at a difficult age, through middle school, when I felt like an outsider, and through high school, when I needed a relief from the stress of AP classes, varsity sports, and college applications.

I have to admit, Warner Bros. has done a fantastic job with other fantasy movie franchises. Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, and the Hobbit all came out of the historic studio, so I imagine they will do a good job with Anne McCaffrey’s dragons. But at the risk of sounding like a book snob, movies by their nature, are forced to water down the books on which they’re based. They simply can’t dig into the character motivations or provide every detail found on the written page. I would hate to see Pern stripped of its depth.

Here’s hoping Warner Bros. appeases my nostalgia. In the meantime, I think I’ll go back and re-read at least a few of the Dragonriders of Pern books. I found the first three books available as an ebook on Amazon. Anyone care to join me?

2 comments on “A Classic Comes to Life: Dragonriders of Pern Optioned by Warner Bros.

  1. They sound great and if the movie is anything like how to train your dragon,which I’ve watched with McMini a lot, it’ll be brilliant. I may go look for these and join you. 🙂

    Like

    • Pern isn’t as comedic as How to Train Your Dragon, but I love that movie, too. I assume WB will do a combined live action with digital effects, like Harry Potter, but nowadays you can hardly tell the difference between the real and the virtual. I’d love to have you join me in the re-read!

      Like

Leave a Reply

