3 Comments

My Entry for the TerribleMinds Flash Fiction Challenge: Opening Line Contest

Chuck Wendig is an author with a blog I follow pretty religiously. He’s funny, and has great posts on topics ranging from the best coffee makers to toddler behavior to writing advice. On Fridays, he runs flash fiction contests and writing prompts for his rather large community of followers. This week, I finally got my act together to participate in the contest.

The rules are: write a one sentence opening line. That’s it. So here’s mine:

Respectable people donโ€™t wander the sewers wearing patent leather pumps and little else.

What do you think?

Make sure to check out the rest of the entries at TerribleMinds. Some are pretty good!

3 comments on “My Entry for the TerribleMinds Flash Fiction Challenge: Opening Line Contest

  1. It made me chuckle. ๐Ÿ™‚ I keep meaning to do these, myself.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

    • It was fun, and writing one line didn’t take long. It’s the later weeks, when you’re asked to write 500 or 1000 words that I struggle with…I have so little time to write each day, that even a few hundred words unrelated to my WIP seem like a waste. But it probably would be good to do something outside the box once in awhile. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      • Agreed. I’m putting the finishing touches to a series I’ve been working on for about 15 years and I found it very hard to put it aside for anything, such was my urgency for the story to be told. So yeh, I get that. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Cheers

        MTM

        Like

Leave a Reply

