4 Comments

1 Editing Rule to Remember

1 Editing Rule to Remember

The laws of project management are the same, no matter the industry.

When I was a consultant, years ago, we used to have a rule: take the estimated time for a given project and multiply it by three when planning the work. If only I had taken that to heart for my writing.

I have been revising Sanyare since December, and back then, I thought I could have my first edits (prior to sending to beta readers for feedback) done by February, at the latest. When February came and went, I thought, hey, there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. I’ll be done by the end of March. Well, here we are in the middle of April, and I now have no clue when I’ll be done.

I’ve said in the past that I’m a slow writer, that I only have a couple of hours — at most — each day to write, and even the pros admit the work will take the time it takes. But I didn’t think about it from a project management point of view.

I’m going to try to correct that mistake now. Multiplying by three, I think I’ll be ready to send to beta readers by the end of June.

Ugh.

That light at the end of the tunnel just got a heck of a lot smaller.

What do you think? How do you plan your writing projects?

4 comments on “1 Editing Rule to Remember

  1. I factored in the plus three and got a year and a half. I gave my book a whole six months I didn’t believe it would need. Thought it would be easily done and dusted by Christmas 13. It’s now two books and they should launch in June and July…. If I’m lucky.

    Cheers

    MTM

    Like

  2. What I mean is… You’re not the only one.. If that helps.

    Like

Leave a Reply

